Robin McLean

Get ’em Young, Treat ’em Tough, Tell ’em Nothing

From the author of the acclaimed Pity the Best, a collection of new stories plumbing the depths of American laughter and evil.

Dark, profane and funny, yet ultimately humane, these ten stories are the latest and best of Robin McLean’s reports from the eternal battlefront that is the contemporary United States. Each is a snapshot of the political, racial and sexual undercurrents roiling contemporary life; each finds a way into the nerves and blood beneath questions of power, trauma and oppression. Taken together, these stories march under the banners of Love and War, though the men and women in them aren’t fighting a tangible enemy, but rather their own fear of slipping further through the cracks of their society.

Get ’em Young, Treat ’em Tough, Tell ’em Nothing marries the sardonic moral and political explorations of a Flannery O’Connor to the surreal wit of a Denis Johnson. It is a brazen State of the Union for a nation on the edge.

More Info

If you subscribe to And Other Stories by 26th March 2022, you will receive your limited edition copy of Get ’em Young, Treat ’em Tough, Tell ’em Nothing – in which all subscribers are thanked by name – in July 2022, before its official publication, as well as up to five other specially selected And Other Stories titles per year. Find out more about our subscriptions

  • Find out more about the Robin McLean on her website.
Print status: Pre-order
Author: Robin McLean
Original language: English
Publication date: 18 October 2022
ISBN: 9781913505530
Ebook ISBN: 9781913505547
Availability: World English