If any of these terms are not clear to you, please do contact us at And Other Stories: northernbookprize@andotherstories.org

The prize is open to submissions of unpublished book-length works of literary merit written in English by a writer, of any nationality or descent, who lives in the North of England or who has a strong connection to the North.

To be considered, work does not have to be of a ‘Northern’ flavour or have a ‘Northern’ theme, although what ‘Northern’ means to different writers is one of many questions writers may be asking.

Who is a Northern Writer?

The North of England is defined for the purpose of this prize as the area from the southern boundaries of Cheshire, Merseyside, Greater Manchester and Yorkshire (West, South and East) up to the Scottish border, ie up to and including Northumberland and Cumbria. However, we admit boundaries are fluid and have a wild card opportunity too (below).

This is the wildcard opportunity. (And Other Stories reserves the right to decide whose entry is eligible.) Writers living outside the defined North of England may enter, on the condition that they include a short (under 200 word) statement that (anonymously) explains their connection to the North and why they see fit to enter the Northern Book Prize. If you have paid to enter and your entry is rejected on this ground, your entry fee will be refunded.

If you win an award you will be asked to prove your place of residence and identity, however you retain the right to publication under any name you choose.

What Can You Enter?

We accept book length works of contemporary fiction for this award. And Other Stories’ mission is to support writing of exceptional literary merit and you can best get a sense of our definition of that by looking at the books we have published. You may submit novels, novellas and collections of short stories. (Minimum 17,000 words in total; no maximum.) The work entered for this award must be a complete book of fiction. Not poetry or non-fiction.

The manuscript should be double-spaced, 12pt, and the pages numbered. Include the book’s title but not your name, as the judges read anonymous submissions.

The entry must be the entrant’s own original creation and must not infringe upon the right or copyright of any person or entity. Co-authored entries will not be accepted.

Previously published writers and writers who have existing contracts, or who have previously held contracts, with publishers for works of fiction or non-fiction are eligible to enter.

A writer is not eligible to submit a manuscript that has been published in full, or is under contract for publication, or for which the author or author’s representative (eg agent) is currently seeking a publishing deal, which includes entering other prizes and awards. In other words, simultaneous submission elsewhere is not accepted, in order that And Other Stories and the judges’ time is not wasted. ‘Published’ is taken to mean published in full in any publicly accessible form, e.g. anthology, magazine, newspaper, whether in print or online.

Judging Timeline and Process

And Other Stories will make final decisions on eligibility. Our decisions will be final and no communication will be entered into on the subject.

To be eligible submissions arrive by midnight (GMT) on Tuesday 18th December 2018. Entries that are incomplete, are corrupted or submitted after the deadline will not be considered.

And Other Stories will carry out the initial in-house ‘eligibility check’ sifting of the entries, manage the sifting and internal shortlisting process and send an unannounced selection of entries to the judges (2019 judges are Sarah Moss, Fiona Mozley and Stefan Tobler) at a date before 1st February 2019. At this point, all entrants who have not been chosen will be informed by And Other Stories, in order that they can submit the manuscript elsewhere. The judges will meet in March 2019 and at that point the winner and the other writers will be informed. The prize will be announced publicly at a ceremony in spring 2019.

While And Other Stories always works editorially with an author to develop a book before publication, this prize judges the manuscript received, not the potential that may be in it.

We apologise that we are unable to give feedback on entries that do not win.

Further Conditions for the Winner

The winning writer must be available to participate in the prize ceremony at a venue in the North of England in spring 2019. Winning authors will be expected to resource their own travel and accommodation costs in relation to attending the event. Winners who are under the age of 18 must be accompanied by a parent or guardian.

The winning writer must be willing to participate in media and PR for the prize around the time of the ceremony, related events and later at the time of the book’s publication.

And Other Stories will have the exclusive world right to publish the winning novel in print, ebook and audiobook form and to represent foreign rights on the author’s behalf for the winning novel. The author will be contracted with a standard agreement, including royalty rates comparable to those of other writers on their list.

And Other Stories reserves the right not to award the prize, or to make multiple offers of publication.

And Other Stories reserves the right to vary the rules and conditions of entry and to make any amendments to the published schedule as deemed necessary.


Extraordinary books straight to your door.

Two, four and six book subscriptions available.
Spoil yourself or send them as a gift.

And Other Emails

Lovingly crafted by Subzero - Brighton Web Design & Mike Hewett - Cornwall Digital & Print Design
New customer?

Register to purchase books, subscriptions or post comments on our reading groups.