The 2018 winner of the Northern Book Prize is Amy Arnold, with her novel Slip of a Fish. For more information, please see our news item.


To celebrate our arrival in Sheffield, we’ve launched a new prize for writing by authors based in the north of England, the Northern Book Prize.

In 2017 we relocated to Sheffield, a city with a vibrant literary history in a region that’s bursting with great writers, and we want to demonstrate our commitment to Northern writers and to growing publishing in the North with this new prize.

Each year, we’ll be on the search for great books by great writers living in the North of England.

As our Editor Tara Tobler and Publisher Stefan Tobler say:

London is lovely but it isn’t necessary to be there. We hope to tap some of the extraordinary literary energy in the North and are confident the prize will only grow in prestige and popularity in the years to come.


2018 Judges

  • Ian McMillan, poet and BBC broadcaster
  • Conor O’Callaghan, Lecturer in Creative Writing, Sheffield Hallam University
  • Tara Tobler, Fiction Editor, And Other Stories
  • Clare Malcolm, Chief Executive, New Writing North

For more information on our judges, click here.


The winner of the Northern Book Prize will receive:

  • £5,000 prize/advance
  • Creative editorial support from And Other Stories to develop the manuscript, if need be.
  • A contract for the book’s worldwide publication, distribution and representation from And Other Stories.
  • Developmental opportunities offered by New Writing North through the Northern Writers’ Awards, if need be.

The Northern Book Prize forms part of New Writing North’s Northern Writers’ Awards in 2018. The Awards are supported by Northumbria University, Newcastle and Arts Council England and are open to writers based in the North of England. Claire Malcolm, Chief Executive of New Writing North says:

We are delighted to be working with And Other Stories on the Northern Book Prize. We know from our experiences running the Northern Writers’ Awards that there’s a huge range of exciting and diverse talent in the North of England.



Extraordinary books straight to your door.

Two, four and six book subscriptions available.
Spoil yourself or send them as a gift.

And Other Emails

Lovingly crafted by Subzero - Brighton Web Design & Mike Hewett - Cornwall Digital & Print Design
New customer?

Register to purchase books, subscriptions or post comments on our reading groups.