Congrats to Windham Campbell Prize winner Ivan Vladislavić!


We are delighted that Ivan Vladislavić is one of the three Fiction winners for the Windham Campbell Prizes 2015!

Since starting in 2013, these prestigious, big money awards have gone to a stellar list of winners including James Salter, Tom McCarthy, Geoff Dyer, John Jeremiah Sullivan and Edmund De Waal. It’s 2015 Fiction winners are Teju Cole, Helon Habila and Ivan Vladislavić.

“Since I received the news of the prize yesterday, I have been in a bit of a daze. It is astonishingly generous and will make a decisive difference to my writing life. Thank you for recognizing the work I’ve already done and for supporting the work I still want to do,” said Ivan Vladislavić.

Teju Cole added: “Among the many things to be happy about in winning the Windham Campbell Prize is that Ivan Vladislavić got one too. He’s celebrated in South Africa. I hope he will now be better known here.

In 2013, I was asked to write the introduction for Ivan’s masterly and subtle novel Double Negative. I hadn’t even met the man, but I immediately said yes. Then I realized my folly: how do I preface such an amazing prose stylist, such a puckish and subtle intellect, whose work I always read with total admiration? Fools rush in. I wrote the intro and, brief though it was, Ivan’s example pushed me to do some of my own best writing.”

We are excited to be bringing his fiction to readers outside of South Africa, with one launch each year, including the new stories of 101 Detectives this year:

2013 Double Negative

2014 The Restless Supermarket

2015 101 Detectives

2016 The Folly

Leave a Comment

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Powered by WordPress | Deadline Theme : An Awesem design by tg