Helen DeWitt’s ‘Lightning Rods’ Shortlisted for Wodehouse Prize

And Other Stories author Helen DeWitt has been shortlisted for the Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize for Comic Fiction, for her novel Lightning Rods.

Helen is nominated alongside Deborah Moggach, Joseph Connolly and previous winners Howard Jacobson and Michael Frayn.

Judge David Campbell, Everyman’s Library publisher, said “This is one of the strongest shortlists I have seen—all five novels are truly brilliantly funny.”

The winner will be announced ahead of the Hay Festival in late May.

The winner will receive a case of Bollinger and a set of the Everyman Wodehouse collection which now totals over 80 books. The winner will also be presented with a locally bred Gloucestershire Old Spot pig, which will be named after their winning title!

Previous winners include Terry Pratchett, Ian McEwan, Paul Torday and DBC Pierre.

And Other Stories published Lightning Rods in 2012 and we’ll be bringing out a second edition in July this year.

Read more in today’s Bookseller and Guardian




Leave a Comment

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Powered by WordPress | Deadline Theme : An Awesem design by tg